Grand Rapids Metrology is considered critical infrastructure and remains open. Check out our COVID-19 Return to Work Plan.

Learn More

Blog

Meet the GRM Staff | Andrew (AJ) Bredeweg

Name: Andrew (AJ) Bredeweg

Birthday:  April 28, 1990

Hometown: Grand Rapids

Title at GRM: Account Manager

Branch: Grand Rapids

Time working at GRM: 8 months

What is an average day of work like for you? Typically, I will get in the office at 7 a.m. to start my day. I am usually there for about an hour or so. I prep, put together quotes, and discuss with my teammates on what my plan is for the day. The rest of the day involves meeting with customers, stopping in at companies we have never done business with, and networking.

What originally got you interested in the work that you do? I have always been a people person. I enjoy conversing and helping people out. That is what got me interested in being an Account Manager.

What is your favorite part of your work? My favorite part of work is being able to get to know customers. I also really enjoy the variety of different businesses we help. It isn’t uncommon to be in a foundry in the morning and in a clean chemical plant in the afternoon. The variety is what keeps things interesting.

What is your favorite experience you had with a customer or your favorite achievement when servicing a customer? I like when customers are open about how they do business and are willing to show you how. I know this isn’t “a moment/customer”. It’s so interesting when a contact will walk you through their business and show you how things operate for them.

If you weren’t in the business of metrology, what do you think you’d be doing? I would be doing something in the realm of sales or account management. I enjoy the day to day interaction with customers and being able to help find solutions to their problems.

What are some activities you enjoy when you aren’t working? I enjoy camping with my wife and dog, playing and coaching soccer, hunting, mountain biking, and grilling.

What is your favorite childhood memory? Vacationing in North Carolina with my entire mom’s side of the family.

What is your favorite food? Favorite food would be either smoked ribs, lasagna, or hobo pies while camping.

What are some of your favorite movies? Some of my favorite movies include Braveheart, Lone Survivor, Act of Valor, and Blackhawk Down.

What are some of your favorite musicians/bands? I’m big into country music, so pretty much any country singer.

What is your favorite place to travel to or visit? My favorite place I have traveled so far has been Greece, and in particular, the island of Santorini.

What is something you find unique/interesting about yourself? I played collegiate soccer at Grand Valley State University.

 

 

 

Contact Us! 800.348.5701

Get Started