Grand Rapids Metrology is considered critical infrastructure and remains open. Check out our COVID-19 Return to Work Plan.

Learn More

Blog

Meet the GRM Staff | Kyle Mack

Name: Kyle Mack

Hometown: Birch Run, MI

Title at GRM: Metrology Manager

Branch: Grand Rapids

Time working at GRM: 1.5 years

What is an average day of work like for you? My primary responsibility is to ensure the onsite and in shop calibration processes are running smoothly. This involves speaking with our calibration technicians and assisting them with any problems. A good portion of my day is spent communicating with customers about their specific needs and quoting calibration services. Occasionally I visit customer facilities to speak with them about calibrations they recently had performed or ones that are coming due.

What originally got you interested in the work that you do? I was always a “Why?” kid. This led me to pursue a degree in Biology. My first job out of college was at a pharmaceutical company and that’s when I was introduced to Metrology. I have always enjoyed working with teams and leading them to a common goal.

What is your favorite part of your work? I get the most satisfaction out of helping our team members and our customers work through a problem. Any time I can remove a barrier from someone’s day, I feel as if I’ve really accomplished something.

What is your favorite experience you had with a customer or your favorite achievement when servicing a customer? My favorite experience is when a customer tells us that we exceeded their expectations. I feel that as a service company it is our primary function to not only meet expectations, but to exceed them every day.

If you weren’t in the business of metrology, what do you think you’d be doing? I would likely be in management somewhere, possibly in a Quality Department.

What are some activities you enjoy when you aren’t working? When I’m not a work, I enjoy trying new restaurants and breweries with my family, golfing, softball, bowling or pretty much anything outside.

What is your favorite childhood memory? Not really childhood, but being the first member of my family to graduate college is one of my favorite memories.

What is your favorite food? I love food, but a few favorites would include steak, brisket, a great burger, pate, cheese and many more.

What are some of your favorite movies? I enjoy TV shows more than movies. Some of my favorite TV shows would be Friends, Chopped, Entourage, Bull, and The Ranch.

What is your favorite place to travel to or visit? My wife and I love going to Traverse City.

What is something you find unique/interesting about yourself? I have bowled three 300 games.

Contact Us! 800.348.5701

Get Started