Grand Rapids Metrology is considered critical infrastructure and remains open. Check out our COVID-19 Return to Work Plan.

Learn More

Blog

Meet the GRM Staff | Nicole Bagin

 

 

 

 

 

 

Name: Nicole Bagin

Hometown: Lowell, MI

Title at GRM: Calibration Technician

Branch: Grand Rapids

Time working at GRM: 4 months (started March 14th)

 

What is an average day of work like for you? It depends on the day! Some days I work in-house in either the general or dimensional lab. Other days I work onsite with a customer.  More often than not, I am working in the dimensional lab. I usually do testing using the Pratt & Whitney Labmaster which performs high precision measurement. I can calibrate anything from ring gages to thread plugs to gage blocks. I test a variety of different tools throughout a day.

 

What originally got you interested in the work that you do? I started working in manufacturing when I was 16. I continued to work in manufacturing while I went to college to get my Bachelor of Science. Metrology by definition is the science of measurement. So, when I graduated college I was able to marry my manufacturing experience with my degree. It only made sense to pursue metrology and calibration.

 

What is your favorite part of your work? I love problem solving and learning new things. Our scope is always growing and changing, and I enjoy growing with the company and being able to add more skills to my repertoire.

 

What is your favorite experience you had with a customer or your favorite achievement when servicing a customer? My favorite experience actually happens often. When calibrating onsite for a customer, I am often asked the importance of what I’m doing. I love being able explain to people who regularly work with the tools I’m calibrating what and why I do what I do!

 

If you weren’t in the business of metrology, what do you think you’d be doing? If I wasn’t in the business of metrology, I would probably be working for the state doing Natural Resource Management which is specifically what I studied at GVSU.

 

What are some activities you enjoy when you aren’t working? Reading, spending time with my family, fishing, kayaking, and of course relaxing at home!

 

What is your favorite childhood memory? Baking cookies and spending time with my grandma.

 

What is your favorite food? Homemade taco pizza with black beans and rice.

 

What are some of your favorite movies? Remember the Titians, The Blind Side, Guardians of the Galaxy, 27 Dresses, Big Hero 6, and Aladdin.

 

What are some of your favorite musicians/bands? Pop Evil, Wayland, Halestorm, Disturbed, Queen, Styx, Zak Brown Band, and Justin Timberlake (of course).

 

What is your favorite place to travel to or visit? Ludington, MI

 

What is something you find unique/interesting about yourself? I am not a meteorologist! I do not know what the weather is going to be like tomorrow. Most often, people misread the company name on my shirt, and it can lead to a very funny and informative conversation about metrology!

Contact Us! 800.348.5701

Get Started